Bethany Mott, Executive Director

A native New Yorker, Bethany spent most of her career working in publishing and media in London and Orlando, including serving as the Vice President of Marketing for the combined NPR/PBS stations of Orlando for eight years.  Prior to moving to the New River Valley in 2010, Bethany obtained her Masters in Library Science in children’s services.  While working as a librarian at Radford University, Bethany helped lead a university task force and non-profit to create a quality childcare center in Radford.  The creation and opening of Radford Early Learning Center in early 2016 enabled Bethany to learn the realities of childcare on a granular level. Bethany lives in Floyd County with her retired teacher/now small farmer husband and her sons who work in clinical social work and medicine.  She loves reading, music, hiking, gardening, chickens, practicing yoga and welcomes any opportunity to interact with young children.


Phone: 540-494-7175

2019 Board of Directors

Ex-officio members:

President of Virginia Tech:

Dr. Tim Sands


Dr. Jack Finney

President of New River Community College:

Dr. Pat Huber

Mayor of Blacksburg:

The Honorable Leslie Hager-Smith


Superintendent of Montgomery County Public Schools:

Dr. Mark Miear

Alternate: Administrator of Literacy Programs and Preschool

Ms. Emily Altizer

Current community/business members:

Mr. Kevin Byrd

Executive Director, New River Valley Regional Commission

Mrs. Linda Claussen

Director of Distance Education & Off-Campus Services, New River Community College

Mr. Don B. Halliwill

Chief Financial Officer, Carilion Clinic

Represented by:

Mr. William Flattery

CEO, Carilion Clinic New River Valley

Mr. Jason D. Hardy

Regional Commercial Banking Manager, Carter Bank & Trust

Ms. Sheryl Helm

Director, New River Community Action CHIP and Head Start, Swift Start

Mr. David Moore

Senior Research Faculty – VT Institute for Policy and Governance

Ms. Nikki Slusher

Assistant Vice President, National Bank of Blacksburg

Reverend Terrie Sternberg

Pastor, Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church, Pulaski, Virginia

Ms. Kim Thomason

President, Three Presidents Consulting LLC

Dr. Jessica Wirgau

Executive Director, Community Foundation of the New River Valley


Chair: Mrs. Linda Claussen

Vice Chair/Secretary: Mr. Jason Hardy

Treasurer: Dr. Jessica Wirgau

Exec. Committee: The Honorable Leslie Hager-Smith

Exec. Committee: Dr. Jack Finney

ABCs Social Media Stream

© 2018 ABCs

Alliance for Better Childcare Strategies 

Call us: (540) 494-7175

Email us:

Find us:  990 Cambria St. NE, Christiansburg VA 24073

RSS Feed